Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Yaounde Declaration

Facts for Prelims (FFP)


Source: DTE

 Context: The Yaounde Declaration marks a significant commitment by 11 African countries to end malaria deaths, acknowledging the urgent need for action given the alarming rise in cases.

These countries, including Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria, and Uganda, collectively bear the highest burden of malaria infections and deaths globally. The declaration emphasizes the importance of addressing root causes such as changing vector behaviour, improving access to health services, and combating insecticide and drug resistance.


The Yaounde Declaration includes a commitment by African countries to allocate 15 per cent of annual budgets for the health sector. It aligns with the WHO’s “High burden to high impact” approach, which is built on four pillars:

  1. political will to reduce malaria deaths
  2. strategic information to drive impact
  3. better guidance, policies, and strategies
  4. coordinated national malaria response