Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Mandatory Hallmarking

Facts for Prelims (FFP)


Source: PIB

 Context: The third phase of mandatory hallmarking in India, starting from September 8, 2023, will include an additional 55 districts, bringing the total number of districts covered under this system to 343.

What is Hallmarking?

Hallmarking is like a quality stamp for jewellery and precious metal items. It tells you how pure or good the metal is.

The principal objectives of the Hallmarking Scheme are to protect the public against adulteration and to obligate manufacturers to maintain legal standards of fineness.


Hallmarking in India:

  • At present two precious metals namely gold and silver have been brought under the purview of Hallmarking.
  • Mandatory hallmarking order is applicable on 14, 18 and 22 carats of gold jewellery/artefacts only.
  • BIS assigns a unique HUID (Hallmarking Unique ID) number to all hallmarked items
  • Consumers can verify the authenticity of hallmarked items using the ‘verify HUID’ feature in the BIS Care app.


What is the Hallmarking scheme?

Under the Hallmarking scheme of the Bureau of Indian Standards(BIS), Jewellers are registered for selling hallmarked jewellery and recognised testing and hallmarking centres.


Mandatory Hallmarking of Gold Jewellery: Mandatory Hallmarking of Gold Jewellery has come into force from June 2021. In the first phase, mandatory hallmarking was implemented in 256 districts of the country with effect from 23 June 2021 and in the second phase additional 32 districts were covered.


Aim of the scheme:

  • To protect consumers against victimization due to irregular gold or silver quality
  • Develop India as a leading gold market centre in the World and develop export competitiveness