Print Friendly, PDF & Email




Source: TH

The African Union has suspended Niger from its institutions and activities due to the recent coup that overthrew the democratically elected president. The suspension will last until the restoration of constitutional order.

In Niger, the military coup has led to the detention of President Mohamed Bazoum. The coup plotters have named General Abdourahamane Tchiani as the new leader, citing security concerns related to jihadist violence.

Niger or the Niger is a landlocked country in West Africa. It is a unitary state bordered by Libya to the northeast, Chad to the east, Nigeria to the south, Benin and Burkina Faso to the southwest, Mali to the west, and Algeria to the northwest. Over 80% of its land area lies in the Sahara (Sahel Region).


About African Union:

The African Union (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia; Founder: Muammar Gaddafi) is a continental union consisting of 55 member states located on the continent of Africa. The AU was announced in the Sirte Declaration in Sirte, Libya, on 9 September 1999, calling for the establishment of the African Union.