Print Friendly, PDF & Email

PEN Pinter Prize

Facts for Prelims (FFP)

Source: IE

 Context: Michael Rosen, a British children’s writer and performance poet, has been awarded the PEN Pinter Prize 2023.

  • The prize is given to a writer from the UK, Ireland, and the Commonwealth who is committed to fearless exposition of truth about contemporary life.


Michael Rosen works:

  • Rosen is known for his accessible poetry for children and his themes often touch on social, political, and ethical issues.
  • He has published over 140 books and has championed a style of writing that reflects children’s everyday worlds and validates their imaginative thinking.


About PEN Pinter Prize:

  • Named in honour and memory of English writer Harold Pinter, the PEN Pinter Prize is a prestigious award which is given to a writer who reflects a “fierce intellectual determination (to) define the real truth of our lives and our societies,”.
  • Established in 2009, previous winners of the PEN Pinter Prize include Hanif Kureishi (2010), Salman Rushdie (2014), and Lemn Sissay (2019).