Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Liaquat-Nehru Pact

Facts for Prelims (FFP)


Source: IE

 Context: The Liaquat-Nehru Pact was a post-Partition agreement between India and Pakistan in 1950. The pact aimed to address the treatment of minorities in both countries and provide them with equal rights and security.

  • However, the pact became a point of contention for Syama Prasad Mookerjee, a member of the Hindu Mahasabha and a part of Nehru’s first Union Cabinet.
  • June 23rd is the 70th death anniversary of Syama Prasad Mookerjee


About the Liaquat-Nehru Pact

Dimension Description
Name Nehru-Liaquat Pact (also called Delhi Pact) was signed on April 8, 1950, between Jawaharlal Nehru (Prime Minister of India) and Liaquat Ali Khan (Prime Minister of Pakistan)
Purpose Establish a framework for the treatment of minorities in India and Pakistan
Background Communal tensions and violence during the Partition of India in 1947
Provisions of the Pact
  ·        Refugees were allowed to return safe and unmolested to dispose of their property.

·        Abducted women and looted property were to be returned.

·        Forced conversions were derecognized.

·        Minority rights were confirmed.

·        Setting up minority commissions in both India and Pakistan

·        Countries to ensure complete equality of citizenship for minorities in both countries

·        Countries will guarantee freedom of movement within each country, freedom of occupation, speech, and worship for minorities


Why did Syama Prasad Mookerjee resign?

He resigned from the Union cabinet (Minister for Industry and Supply) due to his disagreement with the controversial Nehru-Liaquat Pact, which he believed would leave Hindus in East Bengal at the mercy of the Pakistani state and go against his vision of a divided Bengal with West Bengal for Hindu Bengalis.

  • He also opposed special status to Jammu and Kashmir. His famous slogan was “Ek desh mein do Vidhan, do Pradhan aur Do Nishan nahi chalenge” (trans: “One country cannot have two constitutions, two prime ministers and two flags”), referring to the provisions of Article 370.