Print Friendly, PDF & Email

India restores e-visa for 156 countries

Topics Covered: India and its neighbourhood- relations.

India restores e-visa for 156 countries:


The Union Home Ministry has restored the electronic visa (e-visa) facility for foreigners from 156 countries who intend to visit India for business, conferences and medical reasons, including for medical attendants.


It was available to people of 171 countries before restrictions were announced in 2020.

What is e-visa?

  • An e-visa is provided in five categories — tourist, business, conference, medical, and medical attendant.
  • Under the arrangement, a foreigner can apply online four days prior to travel.
  • After the details are verified, an electronic travel authorisation (ETA) is generated, which has to be presented at the immigration checkpost on arrival.
  • Entry through e-visas is allowed only at 28 designated international airports and five major seaports in India.


Prelims Link:

  1. What is e-visa?
  2. Eligibility.
  3. Benefits.

Mains Link:

Write a note on e-visa scheme.

Sources: the Hindu.