Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Indian Special Forces (SF)

Topics Covered: Various Security forces and agencies and their mandate.

Indian Special Forces (SF):


Turkmenistan Special Forces Commence Combat Free Fall Training at Indian Special Forces Training School.


The Indian Special Forces (SF) have over a period earned immense respect and reputation of being one of the finest Special Forces in the world due to its professionalism, operational expertise, and sacrifice.

  • Special Forces of friendly nations including the USA, Australia, countries of Central Asian Region & the Middle East have increasingly shown their desire to train with the battle-hardened Indian SF troops.

What are Indian Special Forces (SF)?

India has several Special Forces (SF) units.

These are working under the commands of the Indian Armed Forces, Indian Navy and the Indian Air Force.

There are other special forces which are not controlled by the military but operate under civilian organisations such as Home ministry.

Major Special Forces (SF) of India:

MARCOS (Marine Commandos), is a Special Forces unit that was raised by the Indian Navy in 1987 for direct action, special reconnaissance, amphibious warfare and counter-terrorism.

Para Commandos: Formed in 1966, the Para Commandos are part of the highly-trained Parachute Regiment of the Indian Army and are the largest part of the Special Forces of India. The parachute units of the Indian Army are among the oldest airborne units in the world.

Ghatak Force: True to its name ghatak, this infantry platoon goes for the kill and spearheads strikes ahead of a battalion. Every infantry battalion in the Indian Army has one platoon and only the most physically fit and motivated soldiers make it to the Ghatak Platoon.

COBRA (Commando Battalion for Resolute Action) is a specialised unit of the CRPF (Central Reserve Police Force) that was formed to counter Naxalism in India. It’s one of the few Indian Special Forces, that’s exclusively trained in guerrilla warfare.

Force One came into being in the year 2010 after the deadly 26/11 terrorist strikes in Mumbai. The prime role of this special elite force is to protect the city of Mumbai from terrorist attacks.

The National Security Guard is India’s premier counter-terrorist force. The NSG provides security to VIPs, conducts anti-sabotage checks, and is responsible for neutralising terrorist threats to vital installations.

The Special Protection Group: It is a security force of the Government of India that is responsible for the protection of the Prime Minister of India.


Prelims Link:

Overview of:

  1. Marcos.
  2. SPG.
  3. NSG.
  4. COBRA.
  5. Ghatak force.

Mains Link:

What are Indian Special Forces (SF)? Discuss their significance.

Sources: PIB.