Print Friendly, PDF & Email

National e-Assessment Scheme (NeAC)

Topics Covered:

Important aspects of governance, transparency and accountability, e-governance- applications, models, successes, limitations, and potential; citizens charters, transparency & accountability and institutional and other measures.


National e-Assessment Scheme (NeAC)


What to study?

For Prelims and mains: NeAC- key features, need for and significance.


Context: National e-Assessment Centre of IT Department inaugurated recently.


About NeAC:

  1. NeAC will be an independent office that will look after the work of e-Assessment scheme which is recently notified for faceless e-assessment for income tax payers.
  2. There would be a NeAC in Delhi to be headed by Principal Chief Commissioner of Income Tax (Pr.CCIT).
  3. There are 8 Regional e-Assessment Centres (ReAC) set up at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata Ahmedabad, Pune, Bengaluru and Hyderabad which would comprise Assessment unit, Review unit, Technical unit and Verification units.
  4. Each ReAC will be headed by Chief Commissioner of Income Tax (CCIT).
  5. Cases for the specified work shall be assigned by the NeAC to different units by way of automated allocation systems. 



In view of the dynamic and all India jurisdiction of all officers of NeAC and ReAC, this kind of connective and collaborative effort of officers is likely to lead to better quality of assessments.

Sources: pib.