Print Friendly, PDF & Email

PRELIMS BOOSTER 2018: Mrs. Hume’s pheasant (Hume’s pheasant or bar-tailed pheasant) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS)


Mrs. Hume’s pheasant (Hume’s pheasant or bar-tailed pheasant) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS)

Mrs. Hume’s pheasant (Hume’s pheasant or bar-tailed pheasant)

  1. Near Threatened – IUCN
  2. State bird of Mizoram and Manipur
  3. Local Lame – Nongin
  4. Habitat
  • inhabits open, dry, subtropical evergreen (mainly oak), coniferous (chiefly pine) or mixed conifer-broadleaf forests on steep, often rocky hillsides interrupted by scrub and grassy clearings.
  • It appears to favour broken or successional habitats, with adjacent patches of dense forest,
  • endemic to China, Myanmar, Thailand, Burma and India
  • India — Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh
  1. Threats
  • habitat loss and fragmentation due to shifting cultivation and uncontrolled annual burning, development projects
  • reforestation of large areas with dense conifer plantations
  • hunted for food
  • trade
  1. Conservation
  • Schedule – I bird of wildlife (Protection) act, 1972
  • Appendix I of CITES.







Small Island Developing States (SIDS)

  1. maritime countries that tend to share similar sustainable development challenges like
  • small but growing populations
  • limited resources
  • remoteness
  • susceptibility to natural disasters
  • vulnerability to external shocks
  • excessive dependence on international trade
  • fragile environments etc
  1. first recognization as a distinct group of developing countries — United Nations Conference on Environment and Development in June 1992.
  2. Barbados Programme of Action — 1994 — assist the SIDS in their sustainable development efforts
  3. United Nations Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and small island developing states (UN-OHRLLS) represents this group of states
  4. These are broken down into three geographic regions
  • the Caribbean
  • the Pacific
  • Africa, Indian Ocean, Mediterranean and South China Sea (AIMS)